Word…

What’s up foolz!?

Picture the setting: In the deep south-east suburbs of London, where grey and concrete nullify the creativity of the mind, I would leave school and return to my Auntie’s house where I would wait until my Mum finished work to pick me up.

And then home we went.

With both parents drudging out the 9 to 5, dinner would be a real beaut of turkey burgers from the freezer, chips from the freezer and Heinz baked beans from the damp cupboard.

(We had a lot of damp).

So I’d love to get all Nigel Slater here and talk about the food education my family gave me, or the wondrous recipes that have been handed down from generation to generation, but that wouldn’t really be the truth.

We were part of the generation that TV cooking and cookbooks have been marketed towards for the past 10 years. See: 15 Minute meals! Quickeats! Speed-Food! How to shat out your dinner on the run!

Yeah, we all have a lot less time these days. Mostly because when we get in from work we don’t want to make dinner for an hour and risk missing the start of that TV programme.

For me, it’s not about getting back in the kitchen for 15 minute meals, it’s about getting back in the kitchen and staying put. Learning to love it. Letting it become your way of winding-down. Learning just how creative you can be and how rewarding that is.

Cooking, food… They’re not just a necessity, or a need.

They’re 2coulis for that.

Welcome to the site.

Leave a comment